Patti Scialfa: Springsteen “is in the creative phase” and I can’t record at home studio


The singer talks about her next album, in progress. And the difficulty of recording it for home matters: Springsteen “is in the creative phase” and difficult to find a free studio

“Yes, I’m recording an album, I’m halfway there,” said Scialfa, who also recorded two unreleased songs for the TV series “Pearl”. “Half of the songs are recorded and mixed. I have the rest of the songs, but I have to finish writing the lyrics. I have the melody and the music, and I usually always have the chorus. And then I have to review everything, be sure of what I want. truly express “.
The album could arrive in the spring of 2021, explains Scialfa, but there is a problem: the album is recorded in the home studio inside the Springsteen property in New Jersey, where the couple remained in the Pandemic. But Bruce is also working on an album and the studio is always busy:

We share a studio and Bruce has been so prolific lately it’s hard for me to get into it. He always says, “I have to go record something. Getting some continuity is the hardest thing for me.

The studio, which the Springsteen have shown in some videos recently (see below) has an interesting history and it too has to do with the couple’s life and relationships. When the Springsteen were renovating the property, Bruce decided to build a garage for the classic cars he collects.
But at that point Patti intervened: I walked into the garage and said, “No, no, no.”
I asked Bruce, “Will you let me do a study here?”
Bruce said to me “OK, do it.” It gave me full control over the project, which was wonderful, and we have very similar tastes. I worked with our sound engineer Bob Clearmountain to put the technology together. We made this really beautiful property. It has windows and doors so you can see out into the farm. It’s a place where you can literally work 12 hours and think you’ve only worked three hours. It is really great.

The singer-songwriter’s US radio show, in which he plays records from his personal collection at his New Jersey home, has been picked up by the BBC.

It comes as the Radio 2 schedule returns to pre-pandemic timings.Springsteen’s show will air from midnight to 1am on Saturday, July 25, and will also be on BBC Sounds.

Sara Cox’s show will revert back to its regular time (Ian West/PA)

Sara Cox

From Monday, Sara Cox, Jo Whiley, Trevor Nelson and the weekday specialist music shows on Radio 2 will revert to their regular, pre-lockdown slots.

When making the announcement on SiriusXM today, E Street Radio disc jockey Jim Rotolo said Springsteen will be “telling some of his favorite stories, growing up in New Jersey. Some of his favorite summertime songs as well.”

Springsteen said on the June 17 show that he had had a show prepared that would have been about “celebrating the joys of summer,” but that he postponed it due to the urgency he felt to talk about the coronavirus crisis and politicians’ response to it (or lack thereof). So this is presumably the postponed show, or will at least feature some of the songs Springsteen was planning to play on that day.

To read transcripts of what Springsteen has said on the previous seven DJ shows, and see YouTube videos of all the songs he has played, click here for April 8, here for April 24, here for May 6, here for May 20, here for June 3, here for June 17, and here for the July 1

Bruce Springsteen and the rise of radio resistance to Donald Trump

“With all respect, sir, show some consideration and care for your countrymen and your country,” said Springsteen to President Donald Trump during the June 17 broadcast of his “From My Home to Yours” on SiriusXM’s E Street Radio. “Put on a (blanking) mask.” (EUAPP)

Wearing a mask decreases the chances of transmitting the coronavirus from 17.4 percent to 3.1 percent, according to the World Health Organization.

Trump doesn’t wear a mask.

“With 100,000 plus Americans dying over the last few months and the empty, shamed response from our leaders, I’ve been simply pissed off,” said Springsteen during the show’s intro. “Those lives deserve better than being simply inconvenient statistics for our president’s reelection efforts. It’s a national disgrace.”

Springsteen began his radio show on April 8, which usually airs 10 a.m. EST every other Wednesday, to “play songs and share thoughts about the times we are living in.”

Those thoughts have turned to Trump in recent weeks.

“As we speak, 40 million people are unemployed. One-hundred-thousand plus citizens have died from COVID-19 with only the most tepid and unfeeling response from our White House,” Springsteen said on the June 3 broadcast. “As of today, our Black citizens continue to be killed unnecessarily by our police on the streets of America. And as of this broadcast, the country was on fire and in chaos.”

While Springsteen is new at hosting a radio show, Stern is not. What is new is Stern’s full-throatedness of his opposition to four more years of a Trump presidency. Stern has been largely apolitical throughout his career. Trump was a frequent guest on Stern’s show and the shock jock said he considered the president a friend.

“The oddity in all of this is the people Trump despises most, love him the most,” said Stern on his May 11 show, also on SiriusXM. The show airs live 7 a.m. on Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays. “The people who are voting for Trump for the most part, he wouldn’t even let them in a (blanking) hotel. He’d be disgusted by them. Go to Mar-a-Lago, see if there’s any people who look like you. I’m talking to you in the audience.”

“I don’t hate Donald,” Stern said. “I hate you for voting for him, for not having intelligence.”

Springsteen often talks of his relationship with his fans as having a “conversation” with them, but for some politics is where the conversation ends.




Leave A Reply