Van Morrison releases a new single and a new album


Van Morrison is back with his second album release of the year.

The legendary bluesy rocker today released a new single, ‘Dark Night of the Soul’ and revealed details of his next body of work. (

“You’re just plugging into the feeling of it, more the feeling of it… when they’re playing… It’s like reading me,” said Morrison of the recording process. “So, I think there’s more of that connection”.

His next project, Three Chords and the Truth, will be released on Exile/Caroline International next month on 25 October online as well as on CD and vinyl. The album will contain 14 new original compositions that encapsulate the classic Van Morrison sound and highlight the famed musician’s songwriting talent. His sixth album in just four years, Three Chords and the Truth solidifies the Belfast artist’s relevance across decades of music.

Three Chords And The Truth was produced and written by Van Morrison (except for one track, ‘If We Wait for Mountains’, which was co-written with Don Black). The album features contributions from legendary guitarist Jay Berliner and a duet with The Righteous Brothers’ Bill Medley on ‘Fame Will Eat the Soul’.

Morrison recently announced a five-night stint at the London Palladium and will be touring extensively over the next year. See below for the full list of tour dates.

The collection – made up of 14 new original tracks – was produced and written by Van Morrison, with the exception of his ‘If We Wait for Mountains’ collaboration with Don Black.

Legendary guitarist Jay Berliner also features on the record, while The Righteous Brothers’ Bill Medley duets with Van Morrison on ‘fame Will Eat the Soul’.

Meanwhile, the 74-year-old musician released the first song from the LP ‘Dark Night of the Soul’ today (18.09.19) with a series of shows set to promote the follow-up to 2018’s ‘The Prophet Speaks’.

Following a run in the US, Van Morrison will hit the UK with October dates in Bournemouth, Cardiff, Oxford and Nottingham, before two nights at the Dome in Brighton on December 2 and 3.

New Year’s will be celebrated with three sold out shows at the Stormont Hotel in Belfast on New Year’s Eve (31.12.19), New Year’s Day (01.01.19) and January 2.

While 2020 also kicks off with a stint of shows at the Colosseum at Caesars Palace in Las Vegas, Van Morrison has also confirmed five nights at the London Palladium from March 20 to 25.

The Prophet Speaks was Van Morrison’s 40th studio album will be released on 7th December on Caroline International.

This fourteen track album follows a recent run of hugely acclaimed albums (Roll With The Punches, Versatile and You’re Driving Me Crazy), each of which has delved deep into the musical styles that have continued to inspire Van throughout his life – vocal jazz and R&B. Here, Van takes on a series of unarguable classics by the likes of John Lee Hooker, Sam Cooke and Solomon Burke (among others) and makes them unmistakably his own. Alongside these reinterpretations, The Prophet Speaks features six phenomenal new Van Morrison compositions.

“It was important for me to get back to recording new music as well as doing some of the blues material that has inspired me from the beginning. Writing songs and making music is what I do, and working with great musicians makes it all the more enjoyable.”

Van Morrison says of The Prophet Speaks

The Prophet Speaks again finds Van working with the incredible multi-instrumentalist Joey DeFrancesco (the artist co-credited on You’re Driving Me Crazy) and his band (including Dan Wilson on guitar, Michael Ode on drums and Troy Roberts on tenor saxophone).



Leave A Reply